1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Verify Green's Theorem in the plane for...

1. Oct 28, 2015 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    Use Green''s Theorem in the plane to check:
    [tex]
    \oint_C (xy+y^2) \> dx + x^2 \> dy
    [/tex]
    Where C is the closed curveof the region bound between the curve of [itex]y=x^2[/itex] and the line [itex]y=x[/itex]

2. Relevant equations
    [tex]
    \oint_C u \> dx + v \> dy = \int \int_A (\partial_x v - \partial_y u) \> dx \> dy
    [/tex]

3. The attempt at a solution
    Right, this is my first time trying to solve a problem using Greens Theorem in the plane, and am having trouble. I think both the LHS and RHS are wrong, never mind having them the same haha.

First I did the RHS, the surface area part.
    First I deduced that [itex]v=x^2[/itex] and [itex]u=xy+y^2[/itex], so that [itex]\partial_x v = 2x[/itex] and [itex]\partial_y u = x+2y[/itex] then tried setting the problem up...

[tex]
    I_1 = \int \int_A (\partial_x v - \partial_y u) \> dx \> dy \\
    I_1 = \int \int_A (2x-x-2y) \> dx \> dy \\
    I_1 = \int_0^1 dx \> \int_{y=x^2}^{y=x} x-2y \\
    I_1 = \int_0^1 dx [xy-y^2]_{x^2}^{x} \\
    I_1 = \int_0^1 dx \> ([x^2 - x^2]-[x^3 -x^4]) \\
    I_1 = \int_0^1 (x^4 - x^3) \> dx = [\frac{x^5}{5}-\frac{x^4}{4}]_0^1 = -\frac{1}{20}
    [/tex]

And for the contour integral I split it into two parts, with the first part [itex]I_{x^2}[/itex] being the integral going up the curve [itex]y=x^2[/itex] and the second part [itex]I_x[/itex] being the bit going back down the line [itex]y=x[/itex]

For [itex]I_{x^2}[/itex] :we have [itex]y=x^2[/itex] therefore [itex]dy=2x \> dx[/itex] and I substitute in for [itex]y=x^2[/itex] to get everything in terms of x
    [tex]