Visual Basic or Fortran? -I need your advice

In summary, the conversation discusses the pros and cons of choosing between Fortran and Visual Basic for a programming class. The speakers mention that Visual Basic is easier to learn and has more job opportunities, while Fortran is still used in certain industries but may be more difficult to integrate into applications. They also mention that understanding programming concepts is more important than the specific language being used. The conversation ends with the suggestion to switch to Visual Basic for its ease of use and popularity.
Spirit
Hey everyone,

I have a course requirement for taking one programming class, the choices are Fortran and Visual Basic.

I am not doing well as i expect in fortran, but not sure if its becuase its my first time in programming or the language difficulty. I am thinking to swap to Visual Basic.

What is your advice? Concerning the language difficulties.

On a side note, I would love it if any links to free good material about the languages online that helps beginners like me.

Thanks!

Technology news on Phys.org
Visual Basics is really easy.

I never used Fortran, but I'd still imagine Visual Basics is easier.

Fortran or Visual Basic? They sure don't give you decent choices. Either way they're easy though.

From a career point of view:

Visual Basic = Transportable Knowledge. Friends of mine have done very well by quitting technical jobs and becoming VB programmers in other disciplines who pay better than engineering, financial institutes etc.

Fortran = Rare Knowledge. We routinely hire in contract Fortran programmers as nobody really learns it any more. We have to pay them what they ask asd there are not many about and they are not always that good; but then we lay them off after a couple of months once the job is complete.

From a technical point of view: