Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

What additional courses should I take as a chem major?

1. Jan 15, 2017 #1
    I am a sophomore chem major taking my second semester of organic. I plan on going to grad school. I took calc 2 last semester but calc 3 is not offered next semester so that is sadly out of the question. I can't take classical mechanics without calc 3 and I've already taken prob. and stats. No higher level stats courses offered. I have considered taking discrete mathematics (which includes topics such as logic and proofs, set theory, relations, cardinal numbers, countable and uncountable sets, permutations and combinations, graph theory, and group theory) but I don't know how useful that would be in chemistry and if it would be worth all the effort.

Any other course suggestions or ideas?

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 15, 2017 #2
    Group theory might be applicable to chemistry, but might not be worth the trouble of going through the rest of the discrete math course. Can you talk to an academic adviser at your university or college.

4. Jan 15, 2017 #3
    I do have an advisor though I won't be able to talk to him until the first day of class on Tuesday. I want to at least have an idea of what class to take so I know to attend if its first day happens to be Tuesday.

5. Jan 15, 2017 #4
    I do not know if you need to take any required broad electives outside your major. I know at my university, you had to take or place out of a foreign language, had a Phys Ed requirement, or something like that.

6. Jan 16, 2017 #5

Ygggdrasil

Science Advisor

What type of chemistry do you want to study in grad school? Organic, physical, inorganic, analytic, computational, biochemical? Chemistry is so broad that the recommendations would differ significantly based on the subfield of chemistry you'd like to specialize in.