What are the requirements for being a great physicist?

• Physics
  • Thread starter physicswiz_1279
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Physicist
In summary, the conversation revolves around the topic of intelligence and its role in becoming a successful physicist. The speakers discuss the limitations of IQ tests, the importance of curiosity and hands-on experience, and the idea that creativity and an open mind are more valuable qualities in a physicist than a high IQ. They also share personal experiences and observations about successful physicists.
physicswiz_1279
I am currently a high school student, and have been studying advanced physics and mathematics on my own since I was thirteen. I don’t know what my true IQ is, although I have taken some online tests and it claims it’s between135 and 145. I have a deep love for physics, but I fear failure due to not being intelligent, or skilled enough, and I’m not sure how to proceed.

Physics news on Phys.org
Don't worry about IQ, of course you need to be smart enough, but IQ alone does not determine your chances that you might make a sensational breakthrough of some kind.
But if a making a sensational breakthrough is your ambition, it doesn't happen every day in physics.
Theories get gradually improved, and measurements get gradually more accurate.

IQ tests are rubbish whether they are online or not. The first thing you need to do is define what a great physicist is. If you mean Einstein or Feynman, you need foremost a tremendous amount of luck, and then secondarily mysterious talents whose biological and social origin are so poorly understood that having any degree of attachment to replicating them is hopeless, if enjoyable to ponder as a hobbyist diversion into psychology.