Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

What causes latency from audio signal in to out in computers

1. Jul 2, 2014 #1
    I am just a beginner so if I am asking in the wrong forum please move it to the more relevent one.

From my understanding, electromagnetic waves are what carry audio signals and dependent on the conductor, this speed varies. I have read coxial will carry at about 2/3 speed of light, and fibreoptic at about 96% speed of light.

So my question is, what are the main causes of the delay of an audio signal going into the computer and coming out?

My hypotheses, which i am hoping will be proven to be wrong:
    components that cause the most delay
    -the actual time it takes electromagnetic waves to travel along the physical distance of the wiring from audio input to output
    -the limitation of a computer processor only being about to process, in my case, 2.5GHZ x 64 bit blocks per second

I feel I'm asking a much bigger question that what I know about the science behind it, but I thought there's no harm asking.

Cheers

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 2, 2014 #2

Codexus

Gold Member

Buffering is the main cause of delay. A number of input samples are accumulated in a buffer before the software is notified about the buffer being ready for processing. It then does whatever processing you want it to do and sends another buffer to the audio interface which will output it 1 sample at a time.

So basically the minimum latency is the size of (input buffer + size of output buffer) * period of sampling rate