Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

What chemicals will take up dissolved oxygen?

1. Sep 17, 2015 #1
    I am developing a model of dissolved oxygen (DO) consumption by yeast in the fermentation process. I would like to use a solution that will predictably take up DO over the course of 1 or 2 hours so that I can test a more basic model with the laboratory equipment I have. This would prove I have the means to test a model of the more complex fermentation process.

The DO will be bubbled up through the solution in a fermentation tank. I am a senior Bioengineering undergraduate student, and I do not have much experience with or knowledge of useful chemicals so I need your help.

What cost effective chemicals will take up DO over the course of 1 to 2 hours, much the way yeast consumes DO in the fermentation process?

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 17, 2015 #2

Bystander

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member
    2016 Award

Are you looking for something with a specific reaction/stoichiometry to use as an additional analytical method, or would something that requires calibration be suitable?

Edit: (add) https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Oxygen_scavenger

Last edited: Sep 17, 2015
  4. Sep 17, 2015 #3
    Something with a specific stoichiometry is what I am imagining. In this way I could apply a linear flow rate of air bubbled through the solution until it is saturated.

I'm not sure what you mean by "something that requires calibration".

5. Sep 17, 2015 #4

Bystander

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member
    2016 Award

Just thinking in terms of using charcoal/activated carbon. You did say, "cost effective," which I translated as "cheap."

6. Sep 17, 2015 #5