1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

What does it take to become the best?

1. Mar 25, 2007 #1
    what does it take to become the best???

hi guys,

I am an Xi grade student who loves physics.
    I am quite good and can image situations and solve problems very well.
    I just wanted to know what should i do to get that level of intellect necessary for physics olympiads.

Please suggest me books and their order of reading that can help me acheive this.
    Unfortunately i have no extremely good teachers nearby.

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 26, 2007 #2
    Which country are you in? The level of difficulty of the national Physics Olympiad test depends on which country it is from.

I would highly recommend finding a copy of Irodov's Problems in General Physics. That should be enough.

4. Mar 26, 2007 #3
    XI grade? i take it you aren't in the US...

5. Mar 27, 2007 #4

mathwonk

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    2015 Award

it takes luck. read the best sources and remember to go with what you love. being the best is not where the love is, doing what you enjoy is the key. "the best" is a title bestowed by others, hence is not a true concept.\

consider how ludicrous is a title like "sexiest man alive". this is analogous to being called "the best".

6. Mar 27, 2007 #5

mjsd

Homework Helper

XI grade? 11th Grade? how old are you? may be a bit late to start going for things like the international olympiad? anyway, there is nothing to stop you from trying... good luck
    as to suggested readings.. start by going to the international science olympiad site and look at some past problems...you will then know what is required.

7. Mar 27, 2007 #6