Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

What happens if C is faster than the speed of light?

1. Aug 11, 2012 #1
    Hi all, I'm a basic novice at physics so please be gentle :)

As I understand it, C (from E = MC2) is the constant representing the maximum speed of information transmission in the theory of relativity. The Speed of Light in a vacume is atributed to C under the theory that, as light has no mass it has therefore the fastest possible attainable speed.
    (Have I basically got that right?)

My query is this:-
    Theoretically....
    If there is an (undetected)energy that travels faster than the speed of light, therefore replacing C in E=MC2, would it effect the existing physics mathematics etc or would the existing math/theories be uneffected?

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 11, 2012 #2
    My understanding is we already know we can transmit data faster than the speed of light... But we just don't know where it is going. That stuff is tied to quantum physics of which I am but a baby. I believe those theories leave e=mc2 intact. Now could you transmit a photon using a "quantum" method? Light would travel faster than light. :)

4. Aug 11, 2012 #3
    It would certainly call for correction in SR and GR.

1.In SR&GR we calculate not distance, but spacetime time "distance", which is
    ds^2=-c^2dt^2+dr^2, massive particles travel on time line intervals, what this means is that our speeds are always locally lower than c, hence
    ds^2=-c^2dt^2+v^2dt^2
    ds^2=(v^2-c^2)dt^2
    So massive particles travel on spacetime intervals which are always complex numbers.

2.The photon travels on null lines
    ds^2=(c^2-c^2)dt^2=0
    Photons always travel on paths with 0 spacetime "length".
    There really is no "reason" presented in SR&GR for photons to have this speed, it's more of an empirical thing