1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Physics What jobs can I get with Astrophysics in the UK?

1. Sep 18, 2009 #1
    Hey, I'm 16 and I'm currently studying A Levels at college (Physics, Maths, English Literature, and Philosophy). I've been interested in space for sometime, getting my first telescope around 3 years ago, and I don't know when but I unconsciously decided this was what I was going to do with my life. After that I couldn't imagine myself doing anything else. In 2 years I think I'll take Astrophysics at university (if I get the grades :S) because I like knowing the physics behind what I'm seeing through my 'scope - even though just looking is also amazing. I'm not sure what degree to take or what my job options (in the UK) would be afterwards, though. Could anyone tell me what to expect and offer advice? Also, what salary should I expect? I think it's average and I'll probably be living of tinned beans for a few years hehe but money isn't the driving factor, I'm just wondering.
    Thanks for any replies in advance,
    Katie :)

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 19, 2009 #2
    Hmm... I've just started studying Physics (starts next week :O ) and it seems that most PhD's have a stipend of 13k and then post-docs can pay anywhere from 18-35k (All figures in GBP) depending on the field and your experience.

I think that Physics probably won't pay as much as Engineering or even Maths in some cases but on the other hand you will be earning above the average wage so you don't have to worry about starving.