Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

What kind of internet connection do you have?

1. Dec 30, 2005 #1
    I have been using 4 Mbps high speed for about 6 months now and have been pretty happy with it. Just the other day my internet service provider started offering 9 Mbps for 15 extra dollars per month. Do you think that this increase in speed is worth an extra 15 dollars? Do you really think that I would notice a difference if I did get the faster speed?

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 30, 2005 #2
    what do you do with your connection?
    if its just browsing the internet, then even 1Mbps would be more then enough... for filesharing the more bandwidth you got the better off you are, though id save my money and just be a little more patient...

4. Dec 30, 2005 #3
    Be a little more patient for what?

5. Dec 30, 2005 #4

PerennialII

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

My ISP upgraded from 4 Mbps to 8 Mbps about a year ago, and in single PC browsing use the difference isn't all that big and at first hardly noticed (well, still noticeable, and sure VPNs, downloads etc. 'hogs' can use the extra - there it is does come handy). Since got 3 computers at home the difference when using 2-3 at the same time is clear.

6. Dec 30, 2005 #5
    for my files to download...

7. Dec 30, 2005 #6
    very funny.

8. Jan 3, 2006 #7
    6MB down 512 up

9. Jan 3, 2006 #8
    When will we have Gigabit*s^-1 speeds?

10. Jan 3, 2006 #9
    Is that Gig * s (to the power) -1?

If you mean Gig speeds.. we already do, but its too expensive for a consumer..

http://www.level3.com/673.html

we have OC3 at my work..

11. Jan 4, 2006 #10
    Yes, sorry. I meant Gig / second, I just thought the way I wrote it looked cooler. What speed is T1 and T3?

12. Jan 4, 2006 #11
    Oh, I found it. T1 is 1.544 Mbit/s, and T3 is 34.368 Mbit/s. Wow, t1 and t3 are outdated. I did not know that.