What should be a very simple optics question is giving me problems (two lenses)

In summary, the conversation is about a problem involving two converging, thin lenses and finding the final image location. The approach of using the image from the first lens as the object for the second lens is incorrect and leads to nonsensical answers. The correct approach is to treat the final image as a virtual object with a distance of -10 cm from the second lens. This results in a final image location of 5 cm to the right of the second lens.
FatCat0
I'm studying for the GREs, and I ran across this problem:

Object located at x=0
Lens 1 located at x=40cm
Lens 2 located at x=70cm (30cm from lens 1)

f1 = 20cm
f2 = 10cm

Both lenses are converging, thin lenses. So I have to find the final image location.

The understanding I have of multiple lens problems is that you find the image from the first lens and treat that as the object for the second lens. I'm guessing this approach is wrong because it's leading to nonsensical answers:

[itex]\frac{1}{f1}[/itex] = [itex]\frac{1}{o}[/itex] + [itex]\frac{1}{i}[/itex]

[itex]\frac{1}{20}[/itex] = [itex]\frac{1}{40}[/itex] + [itex]\frac{1}{i}[/itex]

[itex]\frac{2}{40}[/itex] - [itex]\frac{1}{40}[/itex] = [itex]\frac{1}{i}[/itex]

40 = i = o' (this is 10 cm to the right of the second lens; on the focal point which means that I'm going to get the second image at x=-infinity)

[itex]\frac{1}{f2}[/itex] = [itex]\frac{1}{o'}[/itex] + [itex]\frac{1}{i'}[/itex]

[itex]\frac{1}{10}[/itex] = [itex]\frac{1}{40-30}[/itex] + [itex]\frac{1}{i'}[/itex]

[itex]\frac{1}{10}[/itex] - [itex]\frac{1}{10}[/itex] = [itex]\frac{1}{i'}[/itex]

i' = infinity

The answer is actually i' = 5 cm to the right of the second lens. I have no idea how to get to this though. Where'd I go amiss?

Last edited:
Science news on Phys.org
FatCat0 said:
The answer is actually i' = 5 cm to the right of the second lens. I have no idea how to get to this though. Where'd I go amiss?