1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

B What Test Tube/Cylinder is suitable for Faraday Effect?

1. Sep 29, 2016 #1
    I am a high school student replicating the Faraday Effect. I plan to insert a clear liquid, such as distilled water, into a container that will be located inside of solenoid. I plan on using a test tube, however, I have doubts on whether or not the curved bottom of a test tube will alter the transition of light when it travels inside of the solenoid.

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcT_EcSreEAc2p00f3WEiF2-NiEvjQs5QbY2j7xpCciR3tv0oLkx.jpg

Above is an apparatus that is a very close approximation of my experiment. I plan to insert the test tube inside of the solenoid, held together by clay or an applicable substance that can hold the tube in place. Will the tube provide accurate rotation of the light regardless of its curved surface, and if not, is there another alternative I can use?
    upload_2016-9-29_10-24-12.jpeg

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 29, 2016 #2

berkeman

Staff: Mentor

I think you will need flat surfaces for the entry and exit windows of your fluid tube. Otherwise the curved surfaces will disrupt the polarization of the light and muddy your results.

Also, why are you planning on using distilled water? What is the Verdet constant of distilled water?

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Faraday_effect

:smile:

4. Sep 29, 2016 #3
    I think you will need flat surfaces for the entry and exit windows of your fluid tube. Otherwise the curved surfaces will disrupt the polarization of the light and muddy your results.

Also, why are you planning on using distilled water? What is the Verdet constant of distilled water?

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Faraday_effect

Thank you for your advice!