What to do when req'd classes nearly done

• Thread starter reverbtank
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Classes
In summary, the conversation discusses recommendations for classes to take or activities to do while waiting to graduate with an undergraduate degree in physics. Suggestions include taking graduate-level physics classes, traditional undergraduate classes, doing independent research under a faculty member, or studying topics independently. It is also recommended to check the requirements of graduate programs and ensure that coursework is strong enough, and to focus on research experience and obtaining strong recommendation letters. Retaking courses or taking graduate classes as an undergraduate is also mentioned as a possibility. The importance of demonstrating strong understanding and experience in physics is emphasized.
reverbtank
I'm an undergraduate who will be going on to graduate school in physics. I only have two physics classes remaining after this semester, but I have a full year before graduation. Any recommendations for classes to take/things to do in the meantime. I've got a couple ideas myself. What do you think?

*Take one or more graduate classes (eg Nonlinear Dynamics, grad-level QM or relativistic QM)
*Take more traditional undergrad classes (that may be a bit boring) like Thermodynamics.
*Do my own thing under a faculty member (don't know what that would be though).
*Do my own thing completely independently (read up on topology/group theory etc.)
*Retake all the classes that I made mediocre grades in.

I'm interested in ideas that would help me develop my own skills in physics and ideas that would be attractive to grad schools. Thanks!

Physics news on Phys.org