Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

When something gets stuck , whats going on?

1. Aug 19, 2012 #1
    When something gets "stuck", whats going on?

Hi,

So I see things in real life, and wonder what is going on physically. I question things that even seem intuitive. I know most of my questions are stupid, but I don't know much about physics. I just bought "conceptual physics" by hewitt on ebay for $7 shipping included. I can't read it yet though because I am studying for my CFA which takes up most of my time.

Anyway, I was at a renaissance fair today, and there was a knife thrower. The tip of the knife strikes the wooden wall, and the knife gets stuck in the wall. But how? I know if the entire knife went in the wall, obviously gravity is pulling it downward and it is resting in the wall. But if only the tip of the knife penetrates the wall, and the other 95% is suspended in the air, how does it not just fall to the floor? Why wouldn't the force of gravity pull the exposed part to the floor? Is there force of gravity between the sides of the knife and the walls touching it overcoming the gravity of the earth since they are at such a close distance?

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 19, 2012 #2

jedishrfu

Staff: Mentor

Re: When something gets "stuck", whats going on?

have you ever stabbed a knife into a watermelon or something similar and then pulled it out. a suction is created that must be overcome to finally remove it. In a similar fashion, the tip is stuck in the wood and the frictional force between the metal and the wood is enough to hold it in place against the force of gravity trying to pull it down. When the knife penetrates the wood the wood is pusshed to the side and then springs back to make a good seal on the blade.