When something gets stuck , whats going on?

• Thread starter CuriousBanker
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Stuck
In summary, when a knife gets "stuck" in a wall, it is due to the frictional and adhesive forces between the knife blade and the wall material, which are strong enough to overcome the force of gravity pulling the knife down. This is known as static friction and is determined by the materials and smoothness of the surfaces in contact.
CuriousBanker
When something gets "stuck", what's going on?

Hi,

So I see things in real life, and wonder what is going on physically. I question things that even seem intuitive. I know most of my questions are stupid, but I don't know much about physics. I just bought "conceptual physics" by hewitt on ebay for $7 shipping included. I can't read it yet though because I am studying for my CFA which takes up most of my time.

Anyway, I was at a renaissance fair today, and there was a knife thrower. The tip of the knife strikes the wooden wall, and the knife gets stuck in the wall. But how? I know if the entire knife went in the wall, obviously gravity is pulling it downward and it is resting in the wall. But if only the tip of the knife penetrates the wall, and the other 95% is suspended in the air, how does it not just fall to the floor? Why wouldn't the force of gravity pull the exposed part to the floor? Is there force of gravity between the sides of the knife and the walls touching it overcoming the gravity of the Earth since they are at such a close distance?

Physics news on Phys.org