1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Which sub-fields do these interests direct me towards in physics?

1. Jun 14, 2013 #1
    I just finished my first year of undergrad. Though I know I have plenty of time to figure it out, I am trying to figure out what sub-field I want to go into.

In short, I am a non-traditional student, 35 years old, and have studied physics as a hobby since I was a kid. Here are a few of the main factors contributing towards what I will eventually decide on:

- I have always loved quantum physics, though I know that isn't a choice as far as sub-fields go.

- The type of things that have interested me most over the years have always been the mysterious; the boundaries of what we do and don't understand.

- I am 90% certain that I want to pursue theoretical over experimental, just because I like the idea of pushing the envelope.

- I do like astrophysics, but I don't think I want to be limited to that field. Not sure if it's the same in all colleges, but my college splits into "physics" or "astrophysics" at the BA level.

- I had been considering particle physics, but many individuals I have talked to have discouraged me due to budget cuts in the field. I'm also not 100% certain that sub-field would take me in the direction I truly want to go. Enter next point...

- As far as my ideal aspirations, I would love to be involved in a field exploring the theories behind interstellar travel. All I have seen so far is theories/concepts that require exotic matter. Since we don't know if exotic matter even exists, I would love to explore what we *do* have to work with. Even if we couldn't get there in my lifetime, I would love to at least be a contributor towards guiding us in the right direction.