Which undergrad courses are essential to graduate study success?

In summary, the individual is an undergrad planning to transfer to UW-Madison for nuclear engineering and a potential secondary major in physics. The physics major is seen as a safety option and the individual is considering graduate school in the future. UW-Madison has lenient requirements for their physics degree, only requiring General Physics I and II, Modern Physics, an advanced lab, and 9 other upperclassman courses. However, the individual is questioning if these bare-minimum requirements are enough for graduate studies and the physics GRE subject test. They are also seeking advice on additional courses that may be important for preparing for graduate studies.
anonymity
Hello,

I am an undergrad planning on transferring to UW-Madison for nuclear engineering and will also likely pick up a secondary major in physics.

The physics major is more of a safety, because I don't know what I am really interested in at this point... Having both leaves options open.

Being that I am doing this to "keep options open", the idea of graduate school is obviously looming in my head.

The reason for this post is that UW-Madison has VERY lenient requirements to fulfill for their physics degree.

All they require is that you take General Physics I and II (Mechanics, and E&M), Modern Physics, take an advanced lab (which is covered by a Nuclear Engineering lab I will have to take), and 9 other credits in upperclassman (300+) courses.

9 credits is essentially 3 classes.

Having a second major seems pointless to me if it does not qualify you for graduate studies or prepare you fully for the physics GRE subject test.

Will these bare-minimums do this?
If so, which courses are needed?
If not...which courses are needed?

Thanks,
Anonymous

Physics news on Phys.org