Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

While defining a graphene structure

Tags:
  1. Aug 2, 2012 #1
    Hello!
    I am a student and have just started studying about graphene. However I am having quite a lot of problems understanding the crystal structure, specifically, I am unable to place certain terms. These being :
    1. Basis vectors.(I do understand what a basis vector is but am having difficulties in realizing them in the hexagonal structure.)
    2. Reciprocal lattice, brillouin zone.
    I would be very thankful should someone help me out or suggest references.

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 4, 2012 #2

lww

You can find the answers in any fundamental textbook concerning SSP, e.g. book by Ashcroft.

4. Aug 20, 2012 #3
    I have a hunch that you are having difficulties in understanding the crystal structure of graphene, i.e. a honeycomb lattice, because it’s not a Bravais lattice. The honeycomb lattice is a "lattice with a basis." When you put a collection of atoms, which are arranged in a particular way with respect to each other, on every lattice site of a Bravais lattice then you get a lattice with a basis. In two dimensions there are five Bravais lattices. The Bravais lattice corresponding to the honeycomb lattice is the hexagonal (or triangular) lattice. You can find a very good description of this in sections 1.2.1-1.2.3 in this book:

https://www.amazon.com/Condensed-Matter-Physics-Michael-Marder/dp/0471177792