Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Why do objects rest on space thus causing gravity?

1. Mar 14, 2015 #1
    So gravity is supposedly caused by objects such as planets, stars, etc. resting on space which curves space. The more massive the object, the larger the bulge it creates, the stronger the gravity.

My question is, why do these objects even rest on space in the first place? It's as if there's a downward pulling force in space itself. There must be something other than gravity pulling objects down because otherwise, orbits won't exist.

I apologize in advance if I just made a really idiotic thread. I'm not a pro at physics, but I'm hoping to learn.

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 14, 2015 #2

DaveC426913

Gold Member

You're talking about the "rubber sheet" analogy of gravity. It is only an analogy. An object resting on a rubber sheet just happens to mimic - in two dimensions - a similar geometry to masses in spacetime in 3 dimensions.

Objects do not "rest on space". There is no "downward pulling".

4. Mar 14, 2015 #3
    Then how do orbits work?

5. Mar 14, 2015 #4

DaveC426913

Gold Member

Well, that's very hard to describe without using the equations. This is why we use analogies like the rubber sheet.

6. Mar 15, 2015 #5
    Is there at least a basic principle or concept?

7. Mar 15, 2015 #6

russ_watters

Staff: Mentor

Well, yes -- it's the rubber sheet analogy. It works fine, as long as you don't read past it.

8. Mar 15, 2015 #7
    The analogy though uses the gravity on Earth as some sort of downward pull. If there's no downward pull in space and space is 2D, then how do satellites orbit? Isn't an orbit caused when a satellite is caught in the bulge of space? And that satellite's momentum keeps it in orbit rather than it plummeting to the center of the bulge?

9. Mar 15, 2015 #8

Drakkith