Why does Lightning create Bright Bands on a Camera?

In summary, taking a photo of lightning with a smart phone may result in bright horizontal bands of light on the screen. This is caused by the rolling shutter system used in modern cameras, particularly those with CMOS sensors. The effect is present even when the camera is pointed away from the lightning strike. There is currently no solution to this issue.
greswd
I tried taking a photo of lightning with my smart phone.

As the lightning flashed across the sky, bright horizontal bands of light flashed across the screen.

What's the cause of this?

Science news on Phys.org
greswd said:
I'm not an expert but the CCD camera uses lines of pixels and when a pixel is overstimulated it overflows into the rest of the pixels in the line. Hope that helps!

jerromyjon said:
I'm not an expert but the CCD camera uses lines of pixels and when a pixel is overstimulated it overflows into the rest of the pixels in the line. Hope that helps!

no not quite ... considering most cameras these days are CMOS sensors

I want to hear more from the OP before answering

Were you just using the phone as a camera or did it have other apps running?
If so they might have been generating a bit of random noise on the screen because of lightning interfering with the local cell phone network.

greswd said:
I tried taking a photo of lightning with my smart phone.

As the lightning flashed across the sky, bright horizontal bands of light flashed across the screen.

firstly ... where you doing video ( movie mode) or photo mode ?
show us an example if what you captured

If video, it is caused by the shutter method used in today's modern cameras and it's a total pain in the butt for us serious storm photographers

whilst awaiting your image, does it look anything like this one ? ...

upload_2016-8-13_11-51-0.png

this is just one frame out of a video. when viewing the video at normal speed all you see is a