Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Why does Lightning create Bright Bands on a Camera?

1. Aug 11, 2016 #1
    I tried taking a photo of lightning with my smart phone.

As the lightning flashed across the sky, bright horizontal bands of light flashed across the screen.

What's the cause of this?

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 12, 2016 #2
    I'm not an expert but the CCD camera uses lines of pixels and when a pixel is overstimulated it overflows into the rest of the pixels in the line. Hope that helps!

4. Aug 12, 2016 #3

davenn

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

no not quite ... considering most cameras these days are CMOS sensors

I want to hear more from the OP before answering

5. Aug 12, 2016 #4
    Were you just using the phone as a camera or did it have other apps running?
    If so they might have been generating a bit of random noise on the screen because of lightning interfering with the local cell phone network.

6. Aug 12, 2016 #5

davenn

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

firstly ... where you doing video ( movie mode) or photo mode ?
    show us an example if what you captured

If video, it is caused by the shutter method used in today's modern cameras and it's a total pain in the butt for us serious storm photographers

whilst awaiting your image, does it look anything like this one ? ....

upload_2016-8-13_11-51-0.png

this is just one frame out of a video. when viewing the video at normal speed all you see is a
    wide band of flickering bright light, much as the OP described

Dave

Last edited: Aug 13, 2016
  7. Aug 12, 2016 #6

davenn

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

probably not ....
    see my post as an example, Im pretty sure this is what the OP will be referring to

LETS WAIT for the OP to respond to my questions and confirm :smile:
    instead of wild guesses :wink:

Dave

8. Aug 12, 2016 #7

DaveC426913

Gold Member