1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Worried about my engineering research project.

1. Dec 22, 2013 #1
    I'm in my fourth year of undergrad engineering and next term I have nothing except for a research project. I've always done very well in exams but I'm worried that my grade for this project will be much lower than usual and I'll be exposed as an exam passer (which I basically am since I don't even like engineering. I wish I had picked maths/physics/anything else instead).

The project is to do with the thermodynamics. I'm not looking for help on any specific section, I just want help on how to approach this.

1. One of the things I was suggested to do first was to start replicating the results of papers. How can I do this if it's insanely hard to even figure out the equations and values of constants that were used for each paper? They usually point you to another paper or seem to intentionally not make it clear for the reader. It would take me ages to replicate anyone's results.

2. How do you approach an area of research you know nothing about and learn about it? How do you arrange your notes?

3. What is expected from an undergrad paper? Am I supposed to invent a new approach or new stuff?

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 22, 2013 #2
    Hi there,

Not to worry!