1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Would like some advice on class schedule next semester (Chem vs CS)

1. Dec 9, 2013 #1
    I am a community college student with one semester worth of classes away from transferring to a 4-year university as a Physics major. Currently, I'm enrolled in all the classes I need for transfer:

Differential Equations - 5 units
    General Physics (Modern Physics) last of a 4 class series - 5 units
    Plant Biology - 4 units

I'm wondering if I should just focus on what I have and do well, or if I should take an additional class, either a 5 unit Chem 102 class or a 4 unit CS C++ Programming class or something else, or maybe research. I've already taken a Chem 101 and CS Fundamentals class, so I already have some exposure to those subjects.

Ever since I screwed up my first year in college, I've always been cautious about my workload, never taking more than 15 units a semester, but I have developed good habits and managed to get all A's except one B in my math and science classes. On the other hand, I just got back from a military deployment, so by the time I start class next semester, I would have a 1.5 year gap of not having taken any courses (other than an online Critical Thinking course), although during this time I did do a bit of reviewing and reading ahead. I'm just wondering what would be best considering my situation.

Thanks, and I greatly appreciate your time.

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 10, 2013 #2

Student100

Education Advisor
    Gold Member

Drop plant bio and do do molecular/cell bio, what previous programming language did you learn? Dependent on that I would most likely suggest Chem.

4. Dec 10, 2013 #3