Writing down an explicit homotopy

In summary, a homotopy is a continuous deformation and the task at hand involves constructing a piece-wise function that satisfies certain conditions. This can be achieved by understanding loop multiplication and proving its homotopy invariance. Sources such as Wikipedia can provide more information on this topic. This exercise is a step towards showing that loop multiplication forms a group, and one can compare different groups using group homomorphisms. The technicalities to keep in mind include reparameterization and the restriction of loops to have a fixed base point.
Mikaelochi
TL;DR Summary
I've never written down an explicit homotopy before which is part of the reason I'm so lost on this problem.
HW9Q2.png

I understand that a homotopy is a continuous deformation. The only thing I really remember is something in my notes like this: F(s, 0) = a(s) for 0≤s≤1 and F(s, 1) = a * Id(s). Basically I have to construct some sort of piece-wise function such that I go something like two loops half of the time and stay in place at one point the other half of the time. Anyway, any help is greatly appreciated.

Physics news on Phys.org
Mikaelochi said:
Summary:: I've never written down an explicit homotopy before which is part of the reason I'm so lost on this problem.

View attachment 294278
I understand that a homotopy is a continuous deformation. The only thing I really remember is something in my notes like this: F(s, 0) = a(s) for 0≤s≤1 and F(s, 1) = a * Id(s). Basically I have to construct some sort of piece-wise function such that I go something like two loops half of the time and stay in place at one point the other half of the time. Anyway, any help is greatly appreciated.
I suspect that if you review the definition of multiplication of loops a homotopy will become obvious.

To be entirely rigorous you might like to prove that your homotopy is continuous.

lavinia said: