Buy Best Multimeter: Fluke 87v v. 28-II

• Thread starter JerryG
  • Start date
In summary, the Extech 28-II is a lower-end multimeter that is not true-RMS, while the Fluke 87v is a professional industrial multimeter that is sure a good investment.
JerryG
I am an electrical engineering student and I want to buy a good multimeter. Can anyone recommend on of these two models or tell me what the primary advantages of each on is?

Engineering news on Phys.org
Well, the 87v is a True-RMS multimeter whereas the 28-II isn't (as far as I can tell).

That said, is there any particular reason you want to buy a "high end" multimeter? 9 times out of 10 a cheap(ish) model will be enough. And when one ISN'T good enough you should probably use a benchtop multimeter anyway (in order to be able to do 4-point measurements etc).

Don't get me wrong, I use Fluke multimeters all the time at work and they are great; but I would never buy one to have at home; and I NEVER use one for anything "serious".

For a student, the current equivalent of the Extech 22-816 (I think they are discontinued) should be more than adequate. It's a true RMS meter with lots of features and capabilities. I picked mine up years back at Radio Shack with test leads, temperature probe, and armored case for less than $60. It's actually way over-kill for my applications, though deteriorating capacitors in old tube amps is a frequent problem and I needed a meter that could measure capacitance, which my old one did not do.

Fluke 87v is a professional industrial multimeter. It's sure a good investment. It will last you more than 10 or 20 years, and give accurate readings.

But like with anything else you buy, you have to ask yourself what will you use it for? Most people get Flukes because they are making a living out of them. Their job depends on them.

As an alternative, check out the Meterman 37XRA:

http://www.globaltestsupply.com/c/181/Amprobe_Meterman_37XRA_True_RMS_Digital_Multimeter.html