I apologize if this is old. Thing I found.

• Thread starter wfsolis
  • Start date
In summary, this person is uneducated in the maths, but has self taught themselves algebra and introductory calculus. They enjoy thinking about maths late at night and have found interesting mathematical properties.
wfsolis
I am uneducated in the maths and I have self taught myself algebra and introductory calculus. I sit up at night and think of things having to do with maths because I enjoy it and it is great fun for me.

I am sure that many of the things that I think of have already been found by people throughout history, but I will post the things that I figure out in this thread if it is all right with the moderators. I doubt that these have any applications but it is fun. Take two random numbers and calculate their squares.
Find the difference between the two unsquared numbers.
Multiply each unsquared number by the difference between the two numbers.
The sum of the two products calculated above is equal to the difference between the two squared numbers found in the first step.

This is not proof but is example:
5, 19
19 - 5 = 14
(5 * 14 = 70) , (19 * 14 = 266)
(70 + 266 = 336)

(5^2 = 25) , (19^2 = 361)
(361 - 25 = 336)Thank you for reading this. I apologize that it is messy. I wish I could state this algebraically, but I do not know how to. I apologize if this is wrong place.I apologize, someone sent me a message to tell me that this is simply the difference between two squares for which these is a formula. I apologize for wasting time for you all.

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
a, b real numbers
with binomial
a(a-b)+b(a-b)=(a-b)(a+b)=a2-b2
or with computation
a(a-b)+b(a-b)=a2-ab+ab-b2=a2-b2

it's a basic binomial formula: (a+b)(a-b)=a2-b2

wfsolis said:
I am uneducated in the maths and I have self taught myself algebra and introductory calculus. I sit up at night and think of things having to do with maths because I enjoy it and it is great fun for me.