What do I want to be when I grow up?

• Thread starter mstrixie16
  • Start date
In summary, when applying to graduate school, it is important to have a good understanding of the direction you want to go into, but it is not necessary to be 100% certain. Many schools offer the opportunity to explore different fields during the first year of coursework. It is also helpful to take a diverse range of courses and attend departmental colloquia to get a better understanding of different subjects. Reading articles and speaking with experts can also provide valuable insight. Ultimately, it is common for individuals to make choices based on the best options available to them at the time.
mstrixie16
I am a junior in undergrad and I'm getting to the point that I will need to decide what I want to do when I grow up. So since I was a little girl I wanted to be an astrophysicist. My research is in astrophysics, I work in the planetarium and observatory, and I still really love the subject. The thing is other areas of physics interest me too, especially nuclear physics.

Will I need to figure it out before applying to grad programs? If so, any tips on how to figure it out?

Physics news on Phys.org
Generally, you need to have a good feeling for the direction you want to go into when you apply to graduate school, but you don't have to be 100% certain. In some schools, you spend your first year doing coursework and don't have to decide on a supervisor/thesis topic right away. Others base their admissions on who's going into what fields.

There's no perfect test for figuring this out. Most people meander through the system making choices among the best options available to them at the time, in my experience.