New to Quantum Physics? Get Started Here

In summary, if you are a high school student and want to learn quantum physics, you will need to know some classical physics. You will also need to know calculus, differential equations, complex numbers, and multivariable calculus.
Einherjar
:confused: Hello, i am new to quantum physics, i guess if someone could give me some advice about it, like websites, books or other types of information about quantum physics, as well as the basic physics and maths required to understand it...

Physics news on Phys.org
In Search of Schrodinger's Cat by John Gribbin
This one is not mainly on quantum theory but nevertheless, its awesome, The Emperor's New Mind by Roger Penrose

For the internet http://en.wikipedia.org"

Last edited by a moderator:
Einherjar said:
basic physics and maths required to understand it...

Before you start to learn quantum physics seriously, you need to know some classical physics, of course! :smile: At least you should know something about energy (both kinetic and potential), momentum, and waves.

To get started with Schrödinger's Equation and its simplest applications (one-dimensional situations), you need to know some differential and integral calculus, the basic concepts of differential equations, and some things about complex numbers. For further applications (three-dimensional situations including the hydrogen atom), you need to know multivariable calculus (partial derivatives, etc.).

Nothing quite like a firm grounding in a physicist's Linear Algebra (linear spaces, linear operators etc) nor Fourier Analysis either.

Has anyone got any opinions of the big paperback https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0964350416/?tag=pfamazon01-20 by the International University of Lex? I have looked at it several times in bookstores, and thought that although it was not for me, it might be a good introduction to the "real thing" for a math adept beginner.