Exploring the World of Network Security: Join the Conversation!

In summary, the conversation is about network security and the participants' interest and experience in the field. One person mentions being a network engineer and working with various equipment and operating systems. They also discuss the constant need to stay updated and educated in the field due to the ever-evolving nature of security threats. The conversation also touches on the specific area of TCP/IP security and the importance of staying vigilant in maintaining a secure network.
dekoi
Is anyone interested in the field of network security?

Do you specialize in a particular field?

Would be interested if anyone has the same passion as me. :redface:

I can not wait for summer to come, to give me some time for this hobby.

Computer science news on Phys.org
My Brother is a Network Engineer :P

Who does he work for KaneOris?

I worked as an intern/employee of a local company here for about 2 years, doing Unix/Network security. Guess you could say I did quite a few things. From managing Cisco routers, to making sure all the Unix apps worked correctly. Those would include Samba (which means I administered Windows systems), Apache, LDAP, etc. While trying to make sure these daemons and applications worked correctly, I also had to make sure they were secure.

I enjoyed it, but it did get tiring. Plus, it came to a point where I didn't have the time to be paranoid and have the time for classes.

I am a network engineer. I work mostly with Cisco equiptment (Some McAfee and avaya)... I also do some systems administration on Linux (Red Hat) Windows, HPUnix

Yeh I would say I am interested in Security... Perhaps a little too much :-) One of the best things (Or worst) In this field is that you have to be constantly learning, and keeping yourself on the bleeding edge of technology as much as possiable, or you will be left behind!