Start Learning Physics: A Beginner's Guide

In summary, if you want to study physics, a good place to start is PhysicsForums (PF). It is recommended to have a strong background in mathematics, including calculus and differential equations. However, there are also introductory physics textbooks available for those without a strong mathematical background. Some suggested books include "A Brief History of Time" and Feynman's lectures, which can be purchased online or found in public libraries.
Demoniac
I want to study physics. Where should I start? If this is the wrong section please forgive me.

Physics news on Phys.org
Demoniac said:
I want to study physics. Where should I start? If this is the wrong section please forgive me.
PF is a good place to start.

What background does one have?

I am 14. I have no physics background except the 3 laws of motion. the coanda effect and bernoulli's principal? What is PF?

PF is PhysicsForums, which is this place!

What is your background in mathematics? Any calculus? Differential? Integral?

Have you learned first order differential equations?

Perhaps one should find an Introductory Physics textbook.

I'm going to be a sophmore in September. I have already taken Living Environment and Math A/Algebra.

You're going to want to learn so math before you can study physics in any mathematical depth. Currently I'd start by trying to learn some geometry and the concepts covered in algebra 2.

That's not to say you can't learn any physics. There are a lot of book written for everyday people. A Brief History of Time comes to mind, and books like that.

Read Feynman's lectures, they don't involve too much problem solving (which offsets the need for calculus, for now) while you learn the math necessary to do those problems.

Or you can also read algebra-based physics books, there are a bunch of them everywhere.

Can Feynman's lectures be purchased at a Barnes & Noble store?

Unfortunately, I think you have to purchase it online.