What sort of degree is best for working on propulsion systems?

In summary, the conversation discusses the decision between majoring in aerospace engineering or engineering physics to work on propulsion systems. The curriculum for aerospace engineering involves courses on propulsion systems and aircraft structure, while engineering physics covers a range of topics in electrical systems and abstract physics concepts. Both majors can lead to careers in designing propulsion systems, but practical experience and networking through internships are important for success in the industry. A graduate degree or years of experience may be necessary for those interested in research and development of new technology.
QuantumPadawan
Hello

I am currently an aerospace engineer at university and was beginning to wonder whether it was the best idea to be an AE engineer. The curriculum involves courses on propulsion systems and the different methods as well as other courses about the actual structure of aircraft and spacecraft , but a lot of what the propulsion course lectures on is liquid rockets.

Seeing as how I'm really interested in physics and how the liquid rocket is generally a very inefficient method for going into space, do you think that I might be better off majoring in engineering physics? I want to be a part of a group of people working on developing both new and better technology that is almost ahead of its time. The idea of rockets is awesome, but it's also quite barbaric and very expensive.

The engineering physics course I'm looking at obviously doesn't have a course on propulsion, but it has a more general course ranging from the study of electrical systems and applications as well as labs and classes teaching abstract physics concepts and the applications of such concepts like quantum mechanics and such