Bachelors in Chemistry and Masters in Chemical Engineering

In summary, the conversation discusses the prospects of obtaining an engineering job without a bachelors in engineering. The speaker mentions that some jobs may require a professional engineer certification and suggests looking into the requirements for this in Canada. They also mention that in the US, a bachelor's in science can be acceptable with a master's in engineering. The conversation concludes by discussing the potential job prospects with a graduate degree in engineering.
EasyTuner21
Hello

I have a bachelors in chemistry and am planning to do a masters in chemical engineering. I was just wondering what the prospects would be of obtaining an engineering job without the bachelors in engineering? I am in Toronto if that matters.

Thanks!

Physics news on Phys.org
The one concern I would have is that some jobs might require a professional engineer certification... you may want to look into this. I'm not sure of the requirements for this certification in Canada, but in the US you need a bachelor's degree in the field of interest (at least that's the present case in the US, but in I think 2015 or so, they will change it to include science majors plus 30 degrees graduate credit in engineering -- i.e. a bachelor's in science is ok if you have a master's in engineering).

Note: That might limit your prospects only if the job lists it as a requirement and if the company uses I computerized search. I'd still say your job prospects with a graduate degree in engineering are pretty good. :wink:

Thanks a lot for the information physicsgirl. May I ask what educational and career path you took?

What is the difference between a Bachelors in Chemistry and a Masters in Chemical Engineering?