Radio Frequency Interference (RFI)

In summary: An arc consists of a random string of high current impulses. Each impulse would look like a spike if you draw a graph of current against time. If you analyse this in terms of frequency (and any signal can be looked at both ways) it looks like a huge range of frequencies, from audible (you can hear it) to several tens of MHz and more. All the impulses add together to produce a wide 'spectrum' of random sounding hiss. This spectrum is constantly changing and there will always be some frequencies that fall inside the receiving band of an mf or vhf radio receiver. This raises the level of the general 'noise floor', which consists of all the other forms of noise and interference that you have to
gtacs
I am an electronics technician, and I work on various types of electronic equipment including radio communications devices which is the reason for asking this question. I was recently troubleshooting a radio communications malfunction, basically when squelch was broken, there was a “noise” (like the sound of frying eggs in the background). After troubleshooting for awhile a fellow technician noticed the trouble seemed to affect our truck radio the closer we got to the power transformer feeding the communications facility.
We called the local power company and as soon as the electric company technician got close to the transformer he said it was definitely bad. He explained there was a “gap” of some sort that needed to be maintained, if not, the transformer would arc and cause radio frequency interference. I did not understand what he meant by this but, at the time we were glad to have the issue resolved.
Since the issue I have asked several technicians and polled the all knowing “Google” I keep hearing the same sort of answers like “arcs encompass all frequencies, that's why arc welders cause RFI”, I am still unclear exactly what is happening to cause the interference.