HVAC Electrical Issue: Current Leakage from Furnace

UrbanFarmEngineer
Hey Everyone,
I am not an electrical engineer I am a biochemmie and I am here for your help. I have been learning household wiring and troubleshooting electrical wiring problems in my house for the last few months and I am stumped on an HVAC issue and would really appreciate some insights from you guys. I am here to learn, I have been absolutely loving learning about how my home's wiring works, how to find and correct faults and about AC circuits in general. Having said that, I am learning: if I get some of the terminology wrong I request your correction and ask to please help me understand the main subject matter that I am inquiring about:

Here is the issue:
  1. I noticed net current on the main power supply from my main panel going to the furnace;
  2. When I turned the furnace breaker on I noticed net current at the panel on several other lines coming from different breakers: the sum of the net current on each separate breaker did not add to the net current on the power feed when measured at the the furnace; so
  3. Isolated the furnace onto an extension cord to ensure that there were no shunted neutrals in hidden jboxes (its a 50s house) and plugged in to an isolated outlet and all of the stray current on the breakers disappeared but there was STILL net current on the extension cord
  4. Looked inside the furnace and saw it wasn't grounded inside the junction box where the main power supply enters: DID that and most of the stray current disappeared

I STILL HAVE about 20mA that fluctuates and peaks at 1A ON THE CORD. SO THERE IS STILL SOME LEAKAGE COMING FROM A COMPONENT INSIDE

I have a Klein Tools clamp meter that is calibrated and accurate to 4% so it is not my meter. I have checked it with other clamp meters also and results are same. The furnace is less than one year old and under p&s warranty but the company refuses to send someone to check it out.