Anyone familiar with the University of Manchester?

• Schools
  • Thread starter FordPrefect
  • Start date
  • Tags
    University
In summary, the conversation revolves around the speaker's interest in studying in the UK, specifically at the University of Manchester, for an undergraduate Masters degree in physics. They express their skepticism towards relying on "top 100" rankings and ask for specific information about Manchester's physics department, research opportunities, admissions standards for US students, and the campus. The response provides a brief overview of the university's history and reputation, mentions the availability of research opportunities, and directs the speaker to the university's website for information on admissions standards. The speaker is grateful for the information provided.
FordPrefect
I am currently a freshman at a university in the US, however I am considering studying in the UK to get an undergraduate Masters degree and I was wondering if anyone can give me some insight on Manchester or some university/colleges and their physics departments.

I am not necessarily at a shortage of information (I have exhausted google out for the past week or so), but rather, skeptical of the validity. These "top 100" rankings don't do much justice for me because I really don't learn much about the universities from them. When I visit the universities sites, of course, they all advertise only the positives about the institutions. So really, what I am getting at here, is to see if anyone can answer some specific questions regarding Manchester (or any other similar university you may suggest I look into).

Questions such as: