Replacing LED Bulbs with Different Wavelengths: How Difficult Is It?

• Thread starter chemaddict
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Led
In summary, it is possible to replace individual LED bulbs in a flashlight or headlamp with different wavelength/color LEDs, but it is probably not a simple task and may require special tools and soldering.
chemaddict
I am not an electrical engineer.

Ok, so I am interested in taking a cheap LED flashlight or headlamp (which I don't have yet) and identifying and replacing each individual LED bulb with an LED of a particular wavelength. I've seen you can buy LED's over the internet in bunches so that's no problem, but my question is this:

How difficult is it to 1) Identify the correct type of LED just by looking at it (e.g. voltage, size etc.) and 2) Replace it with a different wavelength LED of the same type.

More specifically, is there soldering involved? Are special tools needed? I don't even know how they connect LEDs to the circuit board.

I'm looking for an idea of difficulty before I get invested. Thanks for any advice.

Engineering news on Phys.org
That might be more difficult than you suspect.

Different colored LEDs operate at different voltages and flashlights and headlamps use switching power supplies (after the batteries) to generate voltages that are especially tailored for their exact LEDs.

So, if you put different LEDs in, especially different colored LEDs, you will upset all this careful design and the results would be unpredictable, but probably not good.

You can see a list of these different voltages here:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/LED
under "colors and materials".
It is a good article and well worth reading.

chemaddict said:
How difficult is it to 1) Identify the correct type of LED just by looking at it (e.g. voltage, size etc.)

Depends on the flashlight or headlamp. Some might give you "specs" you might be able to work with.