Help Designing a Gas Cooler for Senior ME Student

In summary: Cheap and easy.In summary, the senior ME student is designing a gas cooler and needs help understanding how the heat transfer process works. The main dimension the student is focused on is the length of time the section of pipe submerged in water must be to provide sufficient heat transfer. The student knows this will be a function of the inner and outer diameter of the pipe, but is including those variables in some kind of final expression. The student has chosen a pipe dia / thickness yet.
ApolloEngineer
Hello, I'm a senior ME student and for part of my project I'm designing a gas cooler, and I need help understanding the heat transfer process going on (I have yet to taken heat transfer).

So basically my design is a a metal pipe (AISI 302 Steel k=15.1 W/m-k) carrying the gas (which for simplification purposes can be assumed to be pure Carbon Monoxide gas with a volumetric flow rate of 0.00549 m^3/s) which is surrounded by water at room temperature. What I am trying to achieve is lowering the temperature of the gas from 700K to 400K.

The main dimension I am focused on finding is how long this section of tube submerged in water must be to provide sufficient heat transfer for what I want. I know this will be a function of the inner and outer diameter of the pipe, but I am ok including those variables in some kind of final expression.

As I understand it, convection will occur on both surfaces of the pipe and conduction through the pipe wall. I have no idea how to calculate the convection coefficients, or how to take into account how this system will operate through time (this gas cooler can be expected to be run with the above conditions for up to ~6 hours), or how to model the cylindrical pipe.

Any help is much appreciated! Thanks!

Attachments

• gascooler.jpg
    gascooler.jpg
    18.2 KB · Views: 415
Engineering news on Phys.org
Water boils at 100°C which is 373K. You want 400K.