Bio major-calculus vs. linear algebra

In summary, the conversation was about choosing between calculus I and elementary linear algebra as a math class for a bio major. The general consensus was that calculus I would be more helpful overall, as it is often assumed and necessary for biology courses. It was also mentioned that linear algebra may be taught if needed, but calculus concepts may not be explained. As for easiness, it was noted that calculus I is more standardized, while the difficulty of linear algebra may vary between schools. Some suggested studying both, but if only one class can be taken, calculus I would be the better choice. One person also mentioned finding linear algebra easier than calculus.
a.wright
I need to take a math class and my two options are either calculus I or elementary linear algebra. I want to take one that will help me with my future classes, but I'm not very good with math so i don't want to take a class that I'm going to fail. which one would be the most help to a bio major, and whch one is the easiest.

Physics news on Phys.org
any insight to either class would be helpful

I would say calc I over linear algebra. I don't know exactly how elementary linear algebra would differ from linear algebra but I think knowing the basics of calculus would be more helpful overall. I could be wrong though.

I agree with tmyer, calculus will be much more helpful in biology.

Definitely calculus. Most bio majors aren't required to take linear algebra at all, but you'll need calculus for your biology courses.

If a need for something from linear algebra comes up in an undergrad bio class, the professor will probably teach the linear algebra necessary for it, and move on. However, a basic knowledge of calculus is often assumed, and if something from calculus comes up, it often won't be explained. If you're only going to take one of the two, Calculus I is probably going to be the better pick of the two.