Is this a good self-study program?

Giovanni04
Hi everyone, I'm a new here, this is my presentation https://www.physicsforums.com/threads/new-self-study-member.1061374/

I want to study physics for my own intrest and understanding of the universe. A few years ago, after high-school, I studied Halliday and Resnick quite thoroughly, both volumes. Now I remember little about calculus, my grades at school in math were pretty good but I might need a refreshment along the way on trigonometry, for example.
I'm 26, I don't have any deadline, it will take me years, I'm doing it for the pleasure of it. I ultimately want to able to understand physics articles on scientific papers.

If I understand correctly, the first step is to learn the necessary math and then classical mechanics. Regarding math, I really like theorems and their proofs, the theoretical understanding of it. So I would like textbooks that go as deep as possible in the subjects required for physics.

I asked chat gpt and it told me to study, in this order:

"Calculus" by Spivak or "Introduction to Calculus and Analysis by Courant
"Linear Algebra Done Right" by Sheldon Axler
"Vector Calculus, Linear Algebra, and Differential Forms" by Hubbard
"Ordinary Differential Equations" by Tenenbaumm, Pollard and "Partial Differential Equations for Scientists and Engineers" by Farlow
"Mathematical Methods for Physicists" by Arfken, Weber, Harris

All of this before "Classical Mechanics" by Goldstein

Does this program make sense or what would be the best program in my case? I would also like some advice regarding the choice of the books. Thanks

Physics news on Phys.org
That could take years. I suggest studying the mathematics and physics together. Don't spend too long doing just maths.

Goldstein is an advanced textbook. You'd be better with a general introduction to physics, like Resnick and Halliday.

PeroK said: