[Matlab] Ideal Diode (Vector Graph)?

In summary, the conversation is about a novice struggling with an introductory engineering problem solving course using Matlab. The person has provided a screenshot of their code and is looking for help to fix an issue with the plot appearing blank or as a straight horizontal line. The expert suggests checking the code for errors and making sure the correct variables are being used. They also mention that the code for setting vL to 0 should be vL(k)=0 instead of vL=0 to avoid setting the whole vector to 0.
qwrax
Hello, I am a novice in an introductory engineering problem solving course using matlab, and I'm having a bit of a problem.
I have attached a screenshot. I know this is supposed to be pretty basic stuff, But I am hung up on it.

Now, what I have so far:

t=(0:0.01:10);
vs=3*exp(-t/3).*(sin(pi*t));

for k=1:1:length(t);

if vs(k) > 0;
vs(k)=vL;

else vs(k)<= 0;
vL=0;

end
end

disp(vL)
plot(t,vL)
xlabel('Seconds')
ylabel('Voltage')
title('Problem 2(Part A)')

Obviously I am doing something very wrong, as when it plots, I get nothing, the graph appears blank, or is a straight horizontal line at (0,0) or something. I am having trouble narrowing it down, I think the problem lies within the % for k=1:1:length(t), and the %else, or maybe I am simply doing everything wrong to begin with.

If anyone could shed a little light, or give a nudge in the correct direction, I would be greatly appreciative. I have also attached for what the graph is supposed to look like.

Attachments

• Capture.PNG
    Capture.PNG
    22.3 KB · Views: 861
  • graph.PNG
    graph.PNG
    1.4 KB · Views: 724
Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
I think you keep getting Vs and VL confused

if vs(k) > 0;
vs(k)=vL;

shouldn't it be vL(k)=vs(k)?

Also, vL=0 will set the whole vector to zero; I think you mean vL(k)=0;

1. What is an ideal diode in Matlab?