Is Drafting Typical for New Engineering Graduates?

In summary: AutoCAD.In summary, the engineer at the company where I am currently working does not require a license to do design work, but the detail/quality they expect makes it difficult for me to quickly complete the CAD work I've been given. Besides, I'm fairly certain they have enough work to be done on AutoCAD to last me all summer. I would much rather take on extra responsibility, but be applying my knowledge and making mistakes and learning from them.
jegues
Hello all.

To give you guys an idea of my background, I'm currently an EE student who's about halfway through my undergrad degree at uni with above average grades (>4.0 GPA).

Recently I just a got a job with a small engineering firm, and I've found myself spending all my time drafting.(Redrawing drawings using AutoCAD etc.)

I've only been working for a short amount of time, but for the most part it has been quite boring.

Granted, I've never used AutoCAD before, and it would be a very good skill to know how to use it, I just find it very dull and boring.

Is this typical of the type of work given to engineers/engineering students who are just starting?

I would much rather like to apply the knowledge I've learned during my time at university in the workplace towards solving problems and making meaningful contributions to designs, as opposed to redrawing schematics and designs on AutoCAD.

I've taken plenty of courses on a range of more so general topics such as Digital Logic, Circuit Analysis, Electronics, Microprocessing Systems/Design, Numerical Methods for Electrical Engineers etc, I would love to given some work where I have to use the knowledge I've gained from these courses to solve problems and contribute.

Is this still an unrealistic thought for a student such as myself?

I just feel as though I'm not using any of the skills/knowledge I learned at uni, anyone can take the time learn AutoCAD and redraw schematics.