Is it acceptable to post a proof for checking on PF?

• Thread starter pandaBee
  • Start date
In summary, it would be helpful to include definitions for the topics you are discussing, and to ask for criticism on the validity of the argument and the writing of the proof.
pandaBee
And if so, where?
A lot of the times when I am studying a subject (Usually undergraduate upper-div mathematics) I get this gnawing feeling that either what I did was wrong or that there was some way to do the same thing much better and much more efficiently. Is PF an acceptable place to post these kinds of 'questions?'

It would include the topic/question and a proof of said topic/question ending with the conclusion.

Physics news on Phys.org
Yes, it's fine, as long as it's not original research. Keep in mind that the harder it is to follow your arguments, the more likely it is that you will get no replies. So you should make it as easy as possible. Include the relevant definitions so we don't have to look them up.

If the theorem you're proving is an exercise from a book, or if it's an assignment given to you by a teacher, then you should use the calculus and beyond homework forum. If it's just your version of a standard theorem in a book, then you can use one of the math forums. Which one you should choose depends on the topic. There's a forum for linear and abstract algebra, one for topology and analysis, one for differential geometry,...

pandaBee said:
And if so, where?
A lot of the times when I am studying a subject (Usually undergraduate upper-div mathematics) I get this gnawing feeling that either what I did was wrong or that there was some way to do the same thing much better and much more efficiently. Is PF an acceptable place to post these kinds of 'questions?'

It would include the topic/question and a proof of said topic/question ending with the conclusion.