Navigating Life After Academia: Self-Education Paths and Resources

In summary, the conversation revolves around the idea of the academic life not being suitable for the speaker due to the stress and pressure associated with it. They are considering the possibility of teaching themselves and attending classes/lectures for free, but it is pointed out that without a degree, employers may not value the self-taught knowledge. The conversation also touches on the idea that learning is now only valued if it comes with a diploma, and that the academic system is driven by economic factors. There is a shared sentiment of frustration and dissatisfaction with the current state of academia.
thoughtgaze
An undergrad here, about to finish up within a couple of months. My grades aren't too good overall and I think I've learned that the academic life is not for me. Well, to be more precise, the stress and pressure associated with academic life is not for me. I am thinking about the possibility of teaching myself. On that note, I was wondering how difficult that might be. As much as I don't like the pressure and stress associated with the academic life, I was also thinking about attending class/lectures anyway. As far as I know, education itself is free, and the degree is what you pay for, which doesn't really concern me. Thoughts? Comments? Suggestions? Good books to help me in my endeavor?

Physics news on Phys.org
Well, good luck to you. I could never teach myself; personally I need the pressure of a grade to make me study. I know, grad school is supposed to teach you to teach yourself, but whatever. In any case, if you can do it, and you don't care about getting the degree, then go for it.

thoughtgaze said: