Resistivity measurements of a circular shaped sample

In summary, the conversation discusses the calculation of resistivity for a circular sample using two probe measurements. The specific geometry of the sample is important in determining the appropriate method and formula to use. The conversation mentions the use of Coulomb-Bousinesq equations for a three-dimensional problem and the potential use of the Vanderpauw and collinear four probe configurations. Finally, the sample in question is described as a circular pellet with a thickness of 0.6mm and diameter of 13mm.
brk
Hai,
I am doing my masters degree in physics. can somebody help me in which formula to use for calculating resistivity of a sample of circular shape using two probe measurements, which should include thickness and correction factor also.
Thank You!

Physics news on Phys.org
Welcome to PF;
You should be able to get the resistivity from a measurement of the DC resistance across the sample and it's geometry. Which direction you take the resistance measurement depends on the specifics of your samples shape. "circular shape" is a little vague.

thanks for the reply...
I measured the dc resistance already,but how to calculate the resistivity for a circular sample. Using two probe method.

how to calculate the resistivity for a circular sample. Using two probe method.
Nov12-12 04:09 AM

Circular is a 2 dimensional shape. You have lost one dimension.

It is usual to choose the measurement sample so that it is long compared to its cross sectional area (ie along a length of wire) so that the effect of the spread of current may be ignored.

If you are measuring across a disk or ball shaped object then you will have to set up and solve the Coulomb-Bousinesq equations, using your dimensions as boundary conditions. Hertz solved these in about 1885.

However it is a three dimensional problem so you need to be clear as to the geometry.

Studiot said:
Circular is a 2 dimensional shape. You have lost one dimension.