Would you recommend I go to graduate school? I'm trying to be an actuary.

In summary: The market for actuaries is good, but the market for actuarial analysts is not, and it will be 2 – 4 years before the OP becomes an actuary. OP, if your goal is to become an actuary I wouldn’t suggest grad school at all. More school isn’t as impressive as some real work at an insurance company. The underwriting department is a great place to start, if you can get a job there.
Hodgey8806
I am currently graduating from the University of Texas at Arlington with a 4.0, and I have my BofSci degree in math with an emphasis in ops research. I'm preparing for my actuarial tests, and I'm not worried about passing them. However, I know it's a bit of a tight market. I was considering studying finance to make myself more marketable, but I know my end game is being an actuary. So, should I spend my time without working as an actuary to study and improve my skills, or should I go to graduate school.

Btw, I am trying to get into either UT Austin or UT Dallas (to stay close to businesses) as my main schools studying either business analytics or financial risk management.

Thanks for your help!

Physics news on Phys.org
Hey Hodgey8806.

I don't know what your Plan B is specifically, but if you think you can take a few exams then you should take them immediately and show in your applications your able to pass the exams (which is what they care about).

I would go and recommend say a Masters of Statistics because of the hyper-specialization of a Risk Management degree or a "Business Analytics" which is just a nice corporate word for data mining, pattern recognition and other similar things.

Its just my opinion of course, but the thing I worry about is that you will get specialized that would bar you from other jobs that are similar but don't understand the nature of your qualification.