3D Graphene foam from glucose by chemical blowing

In summary, the author has found a method for producing 3D graphene foam, but is facing difficulties with two issues. The first issue is that the pressure needed for the synthesis is not specific, and the second issue is that the conversion of glucose to meldonin and melanoidin is done in ambient conditions. Additionally, the author has emailed Dr. Yoshio Bando but has not received a response.
trujafar
I'm a third year physics undergraduate and I want to make 3D Graphene - without spending a fortune.

This is my background:

I found this review article by Jiang and Fan (Design of advanced porous graphene materials: from graphene nanomesh to 3D architectures) to be very helpful. From what I've understood, the main methods are hydrothermal and CVD. CVD involves using nickel foam, and at $250 a sheet Marketech Intl, Inc. - Nickel Foam is a no-no. However, hydrothermal methods such as this one Porous 3D graphene-based bulk materials with exceptional high surface area and excellent conductivity for supercapacitors which use graphene oxide and surcose seems more promising.

In line with this, I've done research on graphene oxide (a precurser to many graphene-based products), and have read about the Hummer's method, the Improved Hummer's Method (http://pubs.acs.org/doi/abs/10.1021/nn1006368) and have also watched Robert Murray-Smith's videos (www.youtube.com/user/RobertMurraySmit[/URL]).

Now for my question:

I read this article [URL="http://www.nature.com/ncomms/2013/131216/ncomms3905/full/ncomms3905.html"]Three-dimensional strutted graphene grown by substrate-free sugar blowing for high-power-density supercapacitors[/URL] which has a seemingly simple and interesting method for synthesis of 3D graphene foam, which I would very much like to make. But upon reading the article, I'm facing a couple of problems: