Question about finding the area of a function with delta x

In summary, the conversation discusses determining the area of a section of a graph below the graph of a function, using a Ti-89 calculator and a function called 'ninc'. The conversation also mentions a question about finding the area on a specific interval of a function involving delta x divided by the square root of 1-x^2. The person is confused about how to solve this question and questions the use of the function * delta x format.
Juche
I am new to this subject and I don't know what its officially called. I know that we are determining the area of a section of a graph below the graph of the function from points [a,b].

When I have a question that asks something like the area of the function 1/( x^2) on the interval 5,11 I just use my Ti-89 calculator and the 'ninc' function.

However one of my questions asks for the area on the interval 0,0.7 of delta x/(1-x^2)^(1/2). How do I figure this out exactly, this doesn't make sense to me. Shouldn't the area of the section under the function and above the x-axis be the height times width with delta x representing width and the function being height? My other questions were in the format function times delta x, I don't know how to do with with delta x divided by the function.

Physics news on Phys.org
hrm what's wrong with [tex] \frac {\Delta x}{\sqrt{1-x^2}}[/tex] ? if you take the function to be [tex] \frac {1}{\sqrt{1-x^2}}[/tex] then you have it in function * delta x form.

Finding the area under a curve is a fundamental concept in calculus. This process is known as integration, and it allows us to calculate the total area of a function between two given points. In this case, you are correct in thinking that the area should be the height times width, with delta x representing the width and the function representing the height. However, when calculating the area of a function that is divided by another function, we need to use a different method.