Working as a medical physicist in the U.S

In summary, a person in your position should aim to get certified with the ABR and then look into an accredited residency program.
Indian Scholar
I am currently studying in India . I am almost done with my Master in medical physics.
After i finish i want to work in the U.S as a medical physicist. But i think it is not possible , because , first of all , my university is not CAMPEP accredited.
But can anyone tell me , if I want to work in U.S will I have to do, my Master's there again or is there any alternative. ?
is there an option for residency course ?
Any form of help will be truly appreciated.

Physics news on Phys.org
Generally speaking (and coming from a Canadian) if you want to work in the US you should be aiming for certification with the ABR, and this will require you to have gone through an accredited residency program. These residency programs are rather competitive right now and in the foreseeable future. The general consensus seems to be that PhDs from accredited medical physics programs are the preferred candidates for residencies in most cases - I know they are in our program - but there are efforts underway to get more MSc candidates into residencies.

While I don't think it's completely impossible to get into a residency for an individual in your position, I also don't think you'll be very competitive without first going through an accredited program and so your odds are in the "highly unlikely" ballpark, I'm afraid.

Probably the best option I can see is getting yourself into an accredited PhD program, which would allow you to build on your current experience and skill set and then put you in an ideal position for a residency when you get out. That, of course, is a severe commitment.

Hey thank you so much for the reply . It really means a lot to me .
Well, phd sounds like a very good option .