Anyone else quickly forget material when the class is over?

In summary, the person is an engineering undergrad who consistently gets top grades in their courses but struggles with retaining the material. They have noticed that they often need to consult the text for problems from previous courses and wonders if other students or professionals also experience this. They are also curious about the importance of remembering material in the engineering field. The person believes that repeated exposure to the material is necessary to remember it, and notes that they have an easier time remembering biology facts after only reading them once.
bchandler
I am an engineering undergrad, and always get top grades in my courses, but find myself quickly forgetting the material soon after moving on to new courses. For example, on our first Calc III exam, I forgot how to integrate a very basic function for the integration of a vector function. Likewise, I found Chem I and II very interesting, but probably couldn't do any of the problems I learned in the class without consulting the text (though I do remember much of the conceptual stuff).

I'm just wondering if the other students, or employed professionals out there remember their material better than I do. Or does everyone need to consult the text to do a problem from a previous course like I do? I have heard very few engineers ever use the mathematics they learn in school; needing to know only basic concepts. But for some reason I would just like to be one who could bust out a pencil and be able to do a complicated problem on memory alone, like I read about all the great engineers/physicists in history doing.

Physics news on Phys.org