E = mc2 is not really true in all cases?

• Thread starter jainabhs
  • Start date
In summary: E = pc. On the other hand, for a massive particle in its own frame, the first term drops out (in its own frame its momentum is zero), and we have E = mc^2.
jainabhs
E = mc2 is not really true in all cases??

I am new to the field of SR and GR so my knowledge is not much but in the last thread I red following .

"That is an incorrect statement. It assumes that E = mc2 in all cases, which it does not. It therefore "relativistic mass" cannot be replaced by "mass-energy". This assumption can lead a person to make statements which are very serious errors. E.g. people will almost always believe that mass density is identical to energy density. It is not. Rindler explains this in his 1982 intro to SR book."

So please explain, E = mc2 is not really true in all cases, in which cases this doesn't hold true.

Physics news on Phys.org
jainabhs said:
I am new to the field of SR and GR so my knowledge is not much but in the last thread I red following .

"That is an incorrect statement. It assumes that E = mc2 in all cases, which it does not. It therefore "relativistic mass" cannot be replaced by "mass-energy". This assumption can lead a person to make statements which are very serious errors. E.g. people will almost always believe that mass density is identical to energy density. It is not. Rindler explains this in his 1982 intro to SR book."

So please explain, E = mc2 is not really true in all cases, in which cases this doesn't hold true.

Two answers, which are consistent with one another:

1. If I look at an object which is moving with a velocity v with respect to me, and somehow I measure its energy, in my frame, then its energy will be [tex]\gamma E[/tex], where E is its energy in its own frame, and [tex]\gamma = \frac {1}{\sqrt{1 - \frac{v^2}{c^2}}}[/tex]. So if I equate this to [tex]mc^2[/tex] then [tex]\gamma E = mc^2[/tex] or [tex]E = \frac{mc^2}{\gamma}[/tex].