Resources for beginning Physics student

In summary, a beginning physics student like the one you describe faces many challenges in trying to learn the fundamentals.
Terminus
Hello, I'm new here and am searching the internet in desperate need of help. As the title states I am a beginning physics student at the college level and today, a month into my course, I am completely lost.

Please understand that I have never experienced physics until a month ago so this is all very overwhelming to me, especially at the pace of a single college semester. Also note that I'm taking my first calculus course ever alongside physics and have no background in either (I barely passed precalculus and trigonometry to get into calculus and physics).

So my question is: can anyone recommend some great resources for someone like me to help me begin to understand all the classical concepts of physics? Like a good book, study guide, web site, software, etc. that I can use to teach myself all the concepts. I work full time and make very little money so hiring a tutor or seeing my instructor when he's available for help are out of the question for me. Teaching myself on my spare time is my only solution at this point.

So far in my course we are still doing Newton's Laws applications with friction but I'm finding a hard time even understanding basic vectors and kinematics. I've done my course work so far by just plugging in variables in equations and such but I really want to understand how this all works as come test time no one will be around to help me in forming equations and methods to solving said equations.

The main problem that I've noticed I have is that when I'm given a problem to solve I can't even begin to imagine the logic in my head, let alone draw a diagram and proceed on a method to solving it. I'm not a very smart person but I do want to succeed in this coursework so any and all help anyone can give me will be very much appreciated. Thank you

Last edited: