3D Schrödinger Equation for a magnetic vector potential in cylinder coordinates

In summary, Mat found a problem with his PhD thesis, which was trying to solve the wavefunction of an electron traveling through a magnetic vector potential. He found that he needed to solve a simpler differential equation in addition to the Schrödinger equation. He tried a few separation of variables methods, but none of them worked. After some trial and error, he found a way to approximate the function \Lambda(r,\,\theta,\,z) that solves the first two equations. He then had to try another approach to find a function \Lambda(r,\,\theta) that reconstructs the original vector potential. He found that the gradient of this function did not show a
crazy-phd
Hi there,
during my work on my PhD thesis as an experimental physicist I ended up with a very theoretical problem:
What does the wavefunction of an electron traveling through a magnetic vector potential look like?

I chose a cylindrical coordinate system with a magnetic vector potential A (see eq (1) and (2)) for which I want to solve the Schrödinger equation (3). As there shall be no other potentials present the Hamilton operator looks like equation (4).

Using the considerations for the vector potential my differential equation looks like equation (5). In a first attempt I tried the usual separation of variables (equation (6)) which leads to two differential equations (7) and (8), in which R & Z and R & [itex]\Theta[/itex] are coupled.

schrodinger-vector-potential.png

Has anybody an idea on how to solve this "beast"?

Thank you

Physics news on Phys.org
I don't think that you have written an equation down that we can solve, you haven't said what is constant and what isn't. For example is E a constant?

If I get your notation, I think that (8) is wrong.

Hi Mat,
as usual m,e and E are constants (mass, charge and kinetic energy of an electron).